04
Oct
07

Flex / AS3 Reserved Word “to” in Packages

I tend to reserve TOs (Transfer Objects) as the objects I pass back and forth over the wire between Flex and Java and use VOs (Value Objects) as encapsulated data that I pass around my client (only), usually after collecting data from a view and passing it to a CairngormEvent, so I would like to create a package structure that looks like:
com.domain.project.to
and
com.domain.project.vo
respectively…but I can’t.
Unfortunately, the “to” in the package name is a reserved word in AS and throws an error when you try and compile classes with this namespace. My buddy Jon Marston encountered this on our last Flex project, and I forgot all about it until I went to implement it on my current proj…just some advice for anyone else that runs into this issue. I renamed the package to:
com.domain.project.transfer
3 Responses to “Flex / AS3 Reserved Word “to” in Packages”


  1. April 3, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    İstanbul da bilgisayar eğitimi veren kurum ve kuruluşlar için sitemizi ziyaret edin ve alacağınız kurs hakkında bilgi edinin.

  2. August 2, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about
    this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  3. September 8, 2013 at 11:42 am

    In fact when someone doesn’t understand then its up to
    other people that they will assist, so here it happens.


Leave a Reply

